IPL 2023 Paytm Fair Play Award: How IPL Fair Play Award Points Calculated?

Since its start in 2008, the IPL 2023 has changed the way cricket is played. Every season, the players get better at hitting, bowling, and defending. This has led to the creation of a lot of awards to recognize both individual and team achievements.

At the same time, it is just as important to make sure that the games are played fairly and honestly. At the end of the competition, the “Fair Play Award” goes to the team that played the best. Teams get points for following the rules and showing respect to their teammates, opponents, and, most importantly, the match judges.

There are three things that determine how the points are given out. Two points for a team mean that they are doing well, while one or zero points mean that they are doing average or bad. Every match is worth 10 points. Four of them are given to teams based on how well all three judges think they kept the spirit of the game.

Who Has Won the Fair Play Award Maximum Times in the IPL?

The team that has won the most Fair Play Awards is the Chennai Super Kings, which has won the IPL four times and is led by the legendary Mahendra Singh Dhoni. CSK has won this award a record six times in the last 14 seasons, in 2008, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, and 2015.

This award has been won twice by the Rajasthan Royals (in 2012 and 2021), Sunrisers Hyderabad (in 2016 and 2019), and Mumbai Indians (in 2018 and 2020). In 2009 and 2017, the Punjab Kings and the Gujarat Lions, which is no longer a team, won.

When it comes to the IPL 2022 Fair Play Award table, the Chennai Super Kings are in first place with 140 points from 14 games. The Gujarat Titans, Punjab Kings, and Rajasthan Royals, who are all new teams, also have the same number of points.

IPL Fair Play Award Points as on 5 May 2023tsicet gif

1 Gujarat Titans 9 92 10.22
2 Delhi Capitals 9 90 10
3 Sunrisers Hyderabad 9 90 10
4 Chennai Super Kings 10 99 9.90
5 Punjab Kings 10 99 9.90
6 Lucknow Super Giants 10 97 9.70
7 Mumbai Indians 9 86 9.56
8 Rajasthan Royals 9 84 9.33
9 Royal Challengers Bangalore 9 82 9.11
10 Kolkata Knight Riders 10 91 9.10

How IPL Fair Play Award Points Calculated?

  • Four points are given for playing the game in the right way.
  • Two points are given for treating the other team with care.
  • 2 points because you played by the rules.
  • 2 points for showing the judges respect.

List of Previous Fairplay Winners

Year IPL Champion
2022 Rajasthan
2021 Rajasthan
2020 Mumbai
2019 Hyderabad
2018 Mumbai
2017 Gujarat
2016 Gujarat
2015 Chennai
2014 Chennai
2013 Chennai
2012 Rajasthan

What is Fair Play Award in IPL?

At the end of each IPL season, the BCCI gives each team the Fair Play Award based on how they behaved on the field. The factors include how well the team treated the other team, the cricket rules, the umpires, and, most importantly, how well the team stuck to the “spirit of the game” in the umpires’ eyes.

At the end of each match, the teams that played will get points based on these, and the team with the most points at the end of the season will get the Fair Play Award.

Read More:


The IPL 2023 has created awards to recognize individual and team achievements, and the Chennai Super Kings have won the most Fair Play Awards. The Fair Play Award in the IPL is calculated based on how teams behave on the field, with the team with the most points at the end of the season receiving it.

Check our website for more updates.

Leave a Comment