What Happened to David Willey? RCB Announce David Willey’s Replacement!

David Willey will no longer be playing in the rest of the Indian Premier League 2023. This news comes before the IPL 2023 match between LSG and RCB.

Royal Challengers Bangalore announced on Monday via their official social media accounts that David Willey would not be playing in the upcoming Indian Premier League 2023 games. The club said that Willey broke his toe and strained his adductor, so he won’t be able to play in the 16th season of the top T20 league. Here’s what RCB said about the English pacer’s sudden departure.

“David Willey can’t play in the #IPL2023 because he broke his toe and strained his adductor. Willey, you were great the whole time! “Mate, we’re with you as you rest, heal, and come back stronger than ever,” RCB wrote on Twitter. Willey played for Royal Challengers Bangalore in a total of four games during the IPL 2023. He helped the team win three key wickets.

RCB Announce David Willey’s Replacement

As Willey’s replacement, the RCB brought in an experienced Indian player named Kedar Jadhav. “The injured David Willey is replaced for the rest of #IPL2023 by the Indian all-rounder Kedar Jadhav.” “Welcome back to RCB, Kedar Jadhav!” RCB said when Jadhav returned to the team. The 38-year-old used to play for the Bangalore-based team for a number of seasons.

IPL’s Comment About David Willey’s Departure Before LSG Vs RCB

IPL put a statement about this on their website, which said, “On Monday, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) named Kedar Jadhav as David Willey’s replacement for the rest of the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023. Willey, an all-rounder from England, has played four games for RCB so far this season and has taken three wickets. Jadhav, who made his IPL debut in 2010, has played 93 games so far and has scored 1196 runs. The right-handed hitter, who has played for RCB in 17 games before, was bought for INR 1 Crore.

The Many Teams in the IPL That Kedar Jadhav Has Played for

Jadhav has played in the IPL for teams led by MS Dhoni, including the Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, Kochi Tuskers Kerala, and Sunrisers Hyderabad. He has also played for the RCB. He has scored 1196 runs in 93 games, which is an average of 22.14 runs per game and a hit rate of 123.17. During his time at CSK from 2018 to 2020, he got a salary of INR 7.80 crore per year.

RCB Sign Former CSK Star as David Willey’s Replacement

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) signed a former player from Chennai Super Kings (CSK) to replace David Willey for the rest of the Indian Premier League (IPL) on Monday. They are getting ready for a big match against Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) in the current season of the money-making tournament. In match 43 of the IPL 2023, Faf Du Plessis’s RCB team will play against KL Rahul’s LSG at the Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium.

What Happened to David Willey

In preparation for their match with the Lucknow giants, Du Plessis and company were able to replace Willey with Kedar Jadhav, an Indian batter. Willey only played in four games for RCB, but he took three wickets in those games. The IPL told the reporters that the all-rounder who used to play for Chennai Super Kings has joined RCB for INR 1 crore.

Read More: IPL 2023 Paytm Fair Play Award: How IPL Fair Play Award Points Calculated?tsicet gif

The RCB team, led by Virat Kohli, is sixth on the IPL 2023 points table. In the IPL 2023, the Bangalore-based team has won four games and lost four games under the direction of veteran South African batter Du Plessis. When these two teams last played each other in the IPL 2023 at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Rahul’s LSG team won with the last ball of a high-scoring game.


David Willey will not be playing in the Indian Premier League 2023 due to a broken toe and strained adductor. RCB has replaced him with experienced Indian player Kedar Jadhav, who has played 93 games and scored 1196 runs. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) signed a former player from Chennai Super Kings (CSK) to replace David Willey for the rest of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Check our website for more updates.

Leave a Comment